What To Do After a Car Accident With An Occupational License
January 7, 2022at7:00 AM
Your driver’s license may be suspended in Texas for many reasons, including getting a DWI, receiving tickets, car accidents, and more. However, you can request an occupational license if you need to drive to work, school, or for essential household duties. These are restricted driving permits that individuals can apply for from their county. An occupational license is a way to stay on the road for essential activities after your driver’s license is suspended. Even the most cautious driver is vulnerable on the road. If you have an occupational license, you may wonder what to do if you get in an accident. Here’s more information about occupational licenses and what car accident lawyers recommend doing when you’re in a wreck.
Who can get an occupational license?
Individuals with suspended licenses who need to drive to work, school, or conduct essential household duties can get an occupational license. Getting an occupational license happens in two steps. First, applicants must obtain an order from a judge. The court cannot grant an occupational license but authorizes the Texas Department of Public Safety to issue the permit to an applicant.
When your license is suspended in Texas, talking with a car accident lawyer is an excellent way to learn about your options to stay on the road. Monks Law Firm has over 40 years of experience providing guidance to Houston drivers about their options after having their license suspended or revoked.
What kind of restrictions do occupational licenses come with?
Not everyone is eligible for an occupational license. The circumstances under which a driver loses their driver’s license contribute to whether a county court will grant an order to receive an occupational license.
Even if your license suspension is due to a drug or alcohol offense, you can still receive an occupational license. However, the waiting period is 90 days instead of 30 days. Depending on the circumstances of the suspension, an individual’s waiting period can be up to a year.
After receiving an occupational license, drivers must still carry the court order in their car and present it with their license if requested by a police officer. Drivers can only operate their vehicles within the terms outlined in the court order.
Should you call a car accident lawyer if you get in an accident?
In almost all circumstances, it’s a good idea to call a car accident lawyer if you’re in a wreck, regardless of whether you’re determined to be at fault or not. A lawyer will know the questions to ask to determine whether you’re at risk of losing your occupational license due to the accident.
Monks Law Firm prides itself on providing honest, straightforward guidance to clients. We’ve worked in Houston for over 40 years, sharing the benefit of our experience with our clients who are in car accidents with occupational licenses.
Monks Law Firm is Houston’s trusted car accident lawyer helping occupational license holders.
Pat and Mike Monks are Houston natives and tenacious criminal defense and traffic lawyers. We use our years of experience and expertise to help our clients move on with their lives after traffic incidents or criminal charges. Over the past four decades of practicing law, we’ve dedicated ourselves to community involvement and accessible legal services. Providing honest guidance for complex legal issues is a mainstay of our firm. If you need help securing an occupational license or figuring out what to do after you’re in an accident, we can help.
Reach out to our team if you need help with your driver’s license, occupational license, or criminal record. We’ve tried thousands of cases and worked as tireless advocates for our clients as car accident lawyers.
• Harris County • Fort Bend County
• Galveston County • Brazoria County
• Montgomery County • Waller County
• Liberty County • Chambers County
• Austin County • San Jacinto County
• Walker County • Fayette County
• Wharton County