Ways to Register Your Vehicle
Do you know the multiple Ways to Register Your Vehicle in the state of Texas? We at Monks Law Firm want to make sure you are aware of the different ways to stay in compliance with the laws.
Ways To Register your Vehicle
To register your vehicle, your car must pass an inspection test. Once your vehicle passes the inspection, there are three ways to register your vehicle with the state of Texas: Online, by mail, or in person. Here is more information about each form of registration:
- Online. Through this method, you can register your vehicle as early as 90 days before the expiration date and up to six months after the expiration date. However, you can not use this method if you’ve received a citation for the expired registration. The expiration month will not change. It takes up to three weeks for processing and mailing. In addition to the convenience of online registration, you can receive a $1.00 discount by using this method.
- Mail. Through this method, vehicles owners must send the following to the county tax office:
- Renewal notice, a copy of your Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR)
- Proof of current liability insurance
- All fees listed on your renewal notice.
- In Person. Through this method, you must take the VIR, registration renewal notice and the current liability insurance to your county or an approved substation. If you don’t have your renewal notice, you can use the following information to renew your registration:
- License plate number
- Vehicle identification number
- Registration receipt from the previous year.
Contact Us Today
Not only are we willing to educate you about the different laws in Texas, but we also want to inform you of the various services we offer. For more information about our firm and its services, please contact us at 713.666.6657 or visit our website here.