What is a DWI

What is a DWI? DWI stands for driving while intoxicated. And means that if you are facing a DWI this can be a very serious offense. This also means not having the normal use of mental and physical faculties by recognition of the introduction of alcohol or a drug. Under Texas law, a person operating a vehicle who is 21 years of age or older, who is legally intoxicated can face a charge of DWI.

DWI Charges

This offense in the state of Texas can impose serve penalties. For a first time DWI offense, one can receive a fine up to $2000, a jail sentence up to 180 days, a loss of one’s license up to one year, and an annual fee of $1000 for three years to retain your driver’s license. As you can see, even first-time offenders are hit with severe punishments that can alter your life forever. Because this charge will always be on your record, future employers will be able to see this as well. Therefore, this can hinder you from getting jobs that you may have gotten otherwise.

If this is your second-time facing this offense. You are subject to a fine of up to $4000. One month to a year in jail, loss of license up to two years. And an annual fee of $2000 for three years to retain a license. As you keep offending the punishments become more and more severe. Which is why if you have found yourself facing this charge, you need to contact a lawyer immediately.

If you have any questions regarding DWI laws in Texas or want to get in contact with a lawyer. Contact Monks Law Firm Today, we have the experience you need to tackle your DWI case. Because when your future is a stake, we are the attorneys you want on your side.

Best Criminal Defense Attorneys