WHAT TO DO IF YOU GET A NO INSURANCE TRAFFIC TICKET IN TEXAS
December 26, 2022at10:00 PM
DON'T MESS WITH TEXAS…DRIVERS
The state of Texas is serious about protecting people and property in the event of a car accident. The most significant force of that protection comes from ensuring that all drivers can take financial responsibility for any car accident and the resulting injuries, losses, or damages they may cause. Most drivers get insurance to guarantee they are always covered for car accidents. Unfortunately, you will get slapped with hefty fines, penalties, vehicle impounds, and more when you get caught without proof that you can cover the expenses resulting from an accident.
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU GET A NO INSURANCE TICKET IN TEXAS?
Accidents and traffic stops happen, and if you don’t have insurance, you’ll suffer more than just the effects of a crash. Texas drivers who don’t have insurance (whether involved in a car accident or not) get hit with brutal penalties right from the start.
The first time you are caught driving without proof of insurance, you will incur an automatic fine of between $175-$300.
When you apply for insurance after receiving a no-insurance ticket, your rates will be significantly higher than before your ticket. This is because insurers consider those willing to drive without insurance “high-risk” drivers. So, in addition to your fine, be prepared to pay significantly increased insurance premiums.
First-time no-insurance offenders must also complete and carry an SR-22 form from their insurers for two years as proof of their insurance. These forms can cost anywhere from $500-$1,000 annually.
Uh oh…you didn’t get insurance after the first ticket. Texas doesn’t like second-time no-insurance offenders, and now is when the judge throws the book.
Penalties for repeat offenders come with hefty fines of $350-$1,000 per subsequent ticket. In addition, some drivers are subject to 180-day car impoundment, and they must foot the bill for that impoundment to the tune of $15 per day – that’s $2,700 total. To have their car released, drivers must show proof of financial responsibility (preferably in the form of insurance).
Finally, repeat offenders are also subject to having their vehicle registration and driver's license suspended. If you have yet to pass the two-year mark since your last no-insurance ticket, be prepared for extended suspension periods and higher fines.
CONSEQUENCES OF DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE IN TEXAS
Hopefully, your no insurance ticket in Texas was issued during a routine traffic stop. If not, and you are involved in an accident, be prepared to make serious compensations. Texas law stipulates that uninsured drivers are wholly financially responsible for the victims of accidents they are involved in, and are subject to lawsuits if they do not pay. Furthermore, any delay in victim repayment can result in a judge ordering garnished wages, direct payments from your bank account, or even asset liquidation.
HOW CAN A LAWYER SAVE YOU FROM HARSH PENALTIES DUE TO A NO INSURANCE TICKET IN TEXAS?
Fortunately, citizens who are issued no insurance tickets in Texas have legal recourse. Expert attorneys can appear in court on your behalf to negotiate a plea agreement to avoid points on your permanent driving record and save you from astronomical insurance rates in the future.
Furthermore, an experienced no-insurance lawyer has the experience needed to lift warrants on your license, shorten suspension and impound periods, and can even resolve first-time and repeat tickets for the cost of the fines. Relying on the expertise of experienced lawyers is the best way to navigate the process of sorting out your no insurance ticket in Texas.
When you need urgent help with your no-insurance ticket, wait to pay those fines! Immediately call Monks Law for a free consultation and comprehensive action plan for taking care of your no-insurance ticket.